Page 6 - Framework for Collaboration - October 2016
P. 6


The purpose of the Framework for Collaboration is to enable the implementation of
the four Diocesan Priorities: That each person, each parish community, each Pastoral
Area, each school and every ministry within the Diocese is called to:

    • PRIORITY 1. Seek out and draw in the unbelieving and un-churched;
    • PRIORITY 2. Develop life-long discipleship, spiritual growth and a living

         relationship with Jesus Christ, above all in the Holy Eucharist;
    • PRIORITY 3. Discern the gifts (charisms) and the vocations God has given the

         Christian community;

   • PRIORITY 4. Form and support existing and new ‘extraordinary apostolates’.

                            3. THE SIX FRAMEWORK DEPARTMENTS

The Six Departments
Each Vicariate is divided into two Departments. These are led by a priest, a deacon, a
religious or a layperson and these Heads of Department report regularly to their EV.
They will also meet frequently with the Bishop to discuss and align policy. The six
Departments are as follows:

    • Vicariate for Vocation: Department for Vocation; and
    • Vicariate for Vocation: Department for Clergy.
    • Vicariate for Education: Department for Schools; and
    • Vicariate for Education: Department for Educational Chaplaincies.
    • Vicariate for Evangelisation: Department for Administration; and
    • Vicariate for Evangelisation: Department for New Evangelisation.

This allocation of Departments to Vicariates ‘steers’ departmental policies. Some
Departments are divided into Sub-Departments. All Departments and Sub-
Departments comprise team-activities. The allocation of Teams is sometimes self-
explanatory and sometimes pragmatic (e.g. to share out tasks more equitably).

Department for Vocation
The Department of Vocation comprises two Sub-Departments: (1) Discipleship and
Vocation, and (2) Liturgy. The Department is concerned with developing discipleship,
identifying vocation and inserting the disciple more deeply into the life of Christ and
His Church, especially into the sacred liturgy. It helps to discern, support, promote and
celebrate vocations to the priesthood, diaconate, religious life, the consecrated life, the
new movements, marriage and family life, celibacy and the single life within the
Church. It seeks to identify charisms and to promote spiritual development. It works
to advance the liturgical formation of the Diocese in its various dimensions.

Department for Clergy
Led by the Vicar for Clergy, the Department for Clergy comprises two Sub-
Departments: (1) Bishop’s Office for the Support of the Clergy, and (2) Chaplaincies.
The Bishop’s Office for the Support of the Clergy looks after the welfare, on-going
formation and personal support of priests, deacons and retired clergy. The Department
also facilitates the various chaplaincy services of the Diocese: the care of the sick and
the needs of the disabled, hospital and prison chaplaincies, ethnic groups, links with
the Ordinariate, the provision of the Extraordinary Form and care of those from other
Rites. The aim of the Chaplaincies Sub-Department is to serve the needs of individuals
and to make various provisions in order to release the gifts of all for service of the
Church: ‘ministry to’ for the sake of ‘ministry of’.

   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11